Yo La Tengo - Extra Painful


  • £24.99

Deluxe reissue of 1993’s classic Painful which includes an extra disc of demos, live recordings and unreleased songs from the original sessions. 

Painful was Yo La Tengo's sixth album, and their first for Matador, and marked an expansion in their songwriting style by blending their trademark noise-rock with more atmospheric sounds and drawn-out gentleness. Produced by Roger Moutenot, who would go on to record the following six albums with Yo La Tengo, Painful is a landmark album of the early-nineties, and one that never seems to grow old. 

The double LP includes an exact reproduction of the Shaker 7”, a download coupon with fifteen extra tracks (twelve of which are previously unreleased), plus ephemera, photos, original band-aid sticker, and the first YLT Gazette in fourteen years.  

The double CD includes a download coupon which includes the two tracks from the Shaker 7” as well as the fifteen extra bonus tracks.  


Painful (original album) 
  1. Big Day Coming 
  2. From A Motel 6 
  3. Double Dare 
  4. Superstar-Watcher 
  5. Nowhere Near 
  6. Sudden Organ 
  7. A Worrying Thing 
  8. I Was A Fool Beside You For Too Long 
  9. The Whole Of The Law 
  10. Big Day Coming 
  11. I Heard You Looking 

Extra Painful Bonus Disc 
  1. Nowhere Near (Demo) 
  2. From A Motel 6 (Live, Acoustic) 
  3. Tunnel Vision (Unreleased Instrumental Demo) 
  4. Sudden Organ (Demo) 
  5. Smart Window (Unreleased Painful Session) 
  6. Big Day Coming (Live, Acoustic) 
  7. Slow Learner (Unreleased Demo) 
  8. Double Dare (Demo) 
  9. A Worrying Thing (Demo) 
  10. I Heard You Looking (Live) 

Shaker 7” 
  1. Shaker 
  2. For Shame Of Doing Wrong  

Extra Painful Bonus Download 
  1. Double Dare (Sominextraction) (Live At CBGB, 1/31/92) 
  2. What She Wants (House Of Music, West Orange) 
  3. Ashes On The Ground (Live At SIR, 9/29/93) 
  4. Nutricia (Recorded At Snack Time) 
  5. For Shame Of Doing Wrong (Slide Version) (House Of Music, West Orange) 
  6. Superstar Watcher (Recorded At Snack Time) 
  7. Big Day Coming (LIve At Reckless Records, 4/26/92) 
  8. I Was The Fool Beside You For Too Long (Live At SIR, 9/29/93) 
  9. Shaker (Live At The Batschkapp, Frankfurt, 1/3/94) 
  10. Artificial Heart (Live At Shank Hall, 5/11/93) 
  11. Whole Of The Law Loops (Painful Sessions, Water Music & James Apartment 1992) 
  12. Nowhere Near (Lounge Ax, Chicago 11/13/93) 
  13. Sleeping Pill (Excerpt From "Ian Mackaye," Room Temperature, Brooklyn 2/20/93) 
  14. Big Day Coming (Live At SIR, 9/29/93) 
  15. Sudden Organ (Live At SIR, 9/29/93)  


  • LP housed in gatefold jacket with printed inner-sleeves, inserts and stickers 
  • Contains download coupon with 15 additional bonus tracks 
  • Includes liner notes by Yo La Tengo and Matador’s Gerard Cosloy




We Also Recommend