Bernhard Lang: Works For Piano by Wolfram Oettl on Kairos Records (the album cover features and abstract black and white image with the album title and artist names appearing in the top-left corner, and the label name in the bottom-right

Wolfram Oettl - Bernhard Lang: Works For Piano


  • £16.99

The music of Austrian composer Bernhard Lang (b. 1957) is one of in-betweens: stylistically, Lang’s oeuvre occupies the space between a multitude of genres, ranging from contemporary composition and free improvisation to the wider realms of hip hop and DJ-culture. 

This, his latest, portrait album combines some of his piano pieces, performed by German pianist Wolfram Oettl. The centrepiece of the recording is 'Monadologie V: Seven Last Words of Hasan,' a re-writing of Joseph Haydn’s Die Sieben letzten Worte unseres Erlosers am Kreuze, which creates an inspiring link from the 18th to the 21st century. 



Monadologie V ‘Seven Last Words Of Hasan’ (2008-09) 
  1. Introduzione 
  2. Sonata I: … quia nesciunt quid faciunt 
  3. Sonata II: Hodie mecum eris in Paradiso 
  4. Sonata III: Ecce Mulier filius tuus 
  5. Sonata IV: Ut qui reliquisti me 
  6. Sonata V: Sitio 

    3 Intermezzi ( 2015-16 ) 
  7. Intermezzo I: 100515 
  8. Intermezzo II: Abstract Machines #1 
  9. Intermezzo III: Adagio 


  • Austrian import 
  • Housed in custom digipack with wide 18mm spine 
  • Includes extensive booklet 




also available on KAIROS: 
Yoshie Ueno - Toshio Hosokawa: Works For Flute   CD 
Friedrich Cerha - I. Keintate / Eine Letzte Art Chansons   CD 
Benedikt Leitner, Klangforum Wien, Patrick Hahn - Marcin Stanczyk: Mosaique   CD 
Florian Muller, Klangforum Wien & Johannes Kalitzke - Aleksandra Gryka: Interialcell   CD 


browse collections: 
Experimental & Avant-Garde collection 
Unclassical & Modern Composition collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend