Wipers - Over The Edge


  • £24.99

Originally released in 1983, Over The Edge is the third studio album by Wipers. 

Wipers were formed in 1977 by Greg Sage in Portland, OR. Their bleak, hard-driven third album presents Sage at his most chased and breathless, lashing out with sharp staccato notes as if melody were his only defence. Tightening up their sound to create what is arguably the Wipers' definitive album statement, Over The Edge is a distant cousin of the preceding Youth of America but undoubtedly no less excellent, and no less venomous; it is a return to the easily digestible song lengths of Is This Real?, but leaves that debut in its wake. 

On the strength of some brave/smart radio stations that decided to play this album's 'Romeo' (a propulsive horn-flecked slammer in the vein of 'Youth of America'), Wipers solidified their status as a certifiable force in the American underground of the early '80s. But despite the fusion of punk and pop, the record hardly mirrors the bands that would later be called punk-pop. 


  1. Over The Edge
  2. Doom Town
  3. So Young
  4. Messenger
  5. Romeo
  6. Now Is The Time
  7. What Is
  8. No One Wants An Alien
  9. The Lonely One
  10. No Generation Gap
  11. This Time




also available: 
Wipers - Is This Real?   LP 
Wipers - Youth Of America   LP 
Wipers - Wipers (aka Wipers Tour 84)   LP 


browse collections: 
New Wave collection 



We Also Recommend