Evening with the Devil by Wendell Harrison on Now-Again Records

Wendell Harrison - Evening With The Devil


  • £32.99

Evening with the Devil is saxophonist Wendell Harrison's debut solo album, originally released by Detroit's Tribe Records in 1973, an artist-run label, production company, publishing house, and collective founded by Harrison and Phil Ranelin in 1972. 
This definitive reissue has been re-mixed from the original multi-track master tapes under Wendell Harrison's direction, and lacquered by Bernie Grundman. 
Included in an extensive, oversized booklet with never-before-seen photographs, is a new essay by Larry Gabriel and Jeff “Chairman” Mao on the compelling history of the Tribe and its principal members, as well as the story of Black American empowerment in the latter half of the 20th Century. 



  1. Mary Had An Abortion 
  2. Where Am I 
  3. Vol. II - Angry Young Men - Pt. 1 
  4. Vol. II - Angry Young Men - Pt. 2 
  5. Consciousness 
  6. Rebirth 


  • Includes full-size booklet with previously unpublished photographs and rare ephemera from Tribe’s mid-1970s heyday, plus extensive new essay 
  • Features replica of the original sleeve artwork




also available: 
Phil Ranelin & Wendell Harrison - A Message From The Tribe   LP 
Phil Ranelin - The Time Is Now!   LP 


browse collections: 
Jazz collection 


view all new releases...  



We Also Recommend