The Verlaines - Live At The Windsor Castle, Auckland, May 1986


  • £34.99

New Zealand band The Verlaines formed in Dunedin in late 1980, and recorded for the legendary Flying Nun Records. 
Live at the Windsor Castle, Auckland, May 1986
 has been released for the first time ever, for Record Store Day 2021 in the US, and is now available in the UK exclusively from indie stores. 
"This album may end up the hands of people who weren’t even born when these performances took place, so, let me tell you what it was like. The Verlaines. at the time, were Graeme Downes, Jane Dodd and Robbie Yeats. We lived in Dunedin at the near-bottom of the South Island of New Zealand. We were at University. These gigs were recorded to try to capture a live version of Slow Sad Love Song for the upcoming Birddog album that we recorded later that year" - from Graeme Downes' liner notes 



  1. Makes No Difference 
  2. Just Mum 
  3. You Forget Love 
  4. Take Good Care Of It 
  5. Lying In State 
  6. Fuck It Alf 
  7. Only Dream Left 
  8. For The Love Of Ash Grey 
  9. Icarus Missed 
  10. Pyromaniac 
  11. Lover Armageddon 
  12. Slow Sad Song 
  13. It Was Raining 
  14. Doomsday 
  15. You Cheat Yourself 
  16. You Say You 
  17. The Ballad of Harry Noryb 


  • US import
  • Limited-edition (1000 copies) double-LP pressed on sky-blue vinyl and housed in gatefold jacket with 9mm spine; contains download coupon 
  • Artwork is a replication of the original 1986 gig poster 
  • Includes liner notes by Graeme Downes 




view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend