The United States Of America's self-titled album on Esoteric Records

The United States Of America - The United States Of America: Expanded Edition


  • £12.99

Perhaps one of the finest and most original of bands to emerge out of the US during the avant-pop psychedelic-rock era of the late-sixties, the United States of America was formed in 1967 by the avant-garde musician Joseph Byrd (an associate of Yoko Ono who had studied with composer John Cage). After studying at UCLA in California, Byrd decided to form a band that would combine performance art, radical politics and experimental rock music. Recruiting former partner Dorothy Moskowitz (Vocals), Gordon Marron (violin, ring modulator, vocals), Rand Forbes (bass) and Craig Woodson (electric drums), the band signed to Columbia Records and recorded their self-titled album in December 1967.

The sessions produced some of the most extraordinary music of the time, with pieces such as 'The American Metaphysical Circus' combining tape looped effects, electronic sounds and rock to create a stunning opening to a fine album. Such a radical approach led to the album being hailed by critics upon release in March 1968, but receiving a poor commercial reception. Internal friction soon took hold and the United States of America had disbanded by the end of that year. However, thanks to the endearing appeal of their debut album, their influence can be heard decades later in the music of pop adventurers such as Stereolab and Broadcast.

This Esoteric Recordings edition is remastered and includes ten bonus tracks recorded during 1967 and 1968.


  1. The American Metaphysical Circus 
  2. Hard Coming Love 
  3. Cloud Song 
  4. The Garden Of Earthly Delights 
  5. I Wont Leave My Wooden Wife For You, Sugar 
  6. Where Is Yesterday 
  7. Coming Down 
  8. Love Song For The Dead Che 
  9. Stranded In Time 
  10. The American Way Of Love 

  11. Osamus Birthday 
  12. No Love To Give 
  13. I Wont Leave My Wooden Wife For You, Sugar (First Version) 
  14. You Can Never Come Down 
  15. Perry Pier 
  16. Tailor Man 
  17. Do You Follow Me 
  18. The American Metaphysical Circus (Alternate Version) 
  19. Mouse (The Garden Of Earthly Delights) 
  20. Heresy (Coming Down) 


  • Includes illustrated booklet with fully restored artwork and liner notes 
  • Remastered with 10 bonus tracks from the original sessions 
  • Housed in clear jewel case 





see also:
Joe Byrd And The Field Hippies - The American Metaphysical Circus   CD 


browse collections: 
Sixties collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend