The Umbrellas - The Umbrellas


  • £19.99

Will not ship until month_day_year



The San Francisco bay area has long been an important outpost of the International Pop Underground, from the 90's heyday of The Aislers Set, #Poundsign# and The Fairways to the string of legendary popfests in the early 2000's and more recently to a DIY pop resurgence with bands like The Mantles, Flowertown and The Reds, Pinks & Purples. 

Joining this rich pop tradition are The Umbrellas, who, after one well-received tape/single, are sure to dazzle with their new self-titled debut album on Slumberland Records. Classic indie-pop influences are very much in evidence here, from The Byrds to Dolly Mixture, Orange Juice, Heavenly, and The Pastels, along with a noticeable garage-pop/Paisley Underground flavour that is a hallmark of San Francisco’s best bands. 

The Umbrellas’ DIY roots run deep, from previous bands to jobs at local record shops and venues to their warm, distinctive home-recorded sound. Brilliantly catchy lead-off single 'She Buys Herself Flowers' introduces us to a band that’s both intimately conversant with indie-pop history but also unburdened by it, a band with the song-crafting chops and spirit to take familiar elements and create for themselves a fresh new sound. 

The album goes from strength to strength, studded with pop gems like 'Near You,' 'Lonely' and 'Pictures.' They’re tunes that sound like classics from the first listen, and when taken all together give you the distinct impression of a group of friends who write and play for their own pleasure, with a sense of ease that’s readily apparent with every note. Songs like 'Summer' and 'City Song' are at once heavily evocative of San Francisco but also universal, the work of a terrific young band who have struck on something as timeless and elemental as all great pop. 


  1. Lonely 
  2. Near You 
  3. Autumn 
  4. Happy 
  5. It’s True 
  6. She Buys Herself Flowers 
  7. Pictures 
  8. Galine 
  9. Never Available 
  10. Summer 
  11. City Song 
  12. A.M. 


  • US import 
  • LP available exclusively from independent stores 
  • LP contains download coupon 
  • CD housed in gatefold jacket with 4mm spine 





also available on Slumberland Records: 
The Aislers Set - Terrible Things Happen   LP | CD 
The Aislers Set - The Last Match   LP | CD 
Hood - Cabled Linear Traction   CD 
Peel Dream Magazine - Modern Meta Physic   LP | CD 
Chime School - Chime School   LP | CD 
Artsick - Fingers Crossed   LP | CD 
Kids On A Crime Spree - Fall In Love Not In Line   LP | CD 


browse collections: 
Bay Area Indie-Pop collection 


view all new releases... 


browse all pre-releases... 



We Also Recommend