Trash Kit - Trash Kit

Trash Kit - Trash Kit


  • £9.99

With their self-titled 2010 debut album, Trash Kit successfully captured their narrative enthusiasm without losing any charm. There's a stripped back quality to their music that packs the bravest of punches.

Both Rachels tangle their vocals with each other whilst expressive drumbeats and impulsive guitar lines pin down the songs. Agg's guitar playing is as much informed by African fingerstyle patterns as the percussive attitude of various no wave shredders. It often sounds like the guitar lines leap just ahead of the pursuing drums like a musical chase. Horwood approaches her rhythms with an untamed freedom, pushing them forward into the realms of lead instrument. With the inclusion of handclaps, tattered cymbals and Djembe - played with a stick as part of the kit - her vivid drumming sounds nothing short of gripping. Trash Kit's music is full of pauses, flips and punctuation, this is where Ros Murray and her resonant, spirited bass work finds the perfect balance.

The album, recorded in just a handful of days, sees them skip-rope through 17 of their colourful compositions, even finding time to work in passages of violin, noisy freak-outs and some saxophone touches courtesy of guest musician, Verity Susman. The group vocals and wordless singing that weaves through the album are another key part of the band, allowing them to express the uncertain in a way which showcases their boundless delight in making music in its most fun and natural form.


  1. Knock Yr Socks Off
  2. Cadets
  3. New Face
  4. 50ft Woman
  5. Pig Cat
  6. Tattoo
  7. Filipino Song
  8. Bugsy
  9. Natascha
  10. Sun Spots
  11. Corey
  12. Chinese Boy
  13. Bad Books
  14. Trash Kit
  15. Fame
  16. Freetime
  17. Wolfman



We Also Recommend