The Stroppies - The Stroppies


  • £14.99

Starting out as a recording project between Angus Lord, Claudia Serfaty and Stephanie Hughes, the germ of what would eventually become the Stroppies was formed around a kitchen table in Melbourne's inner west early 2016. The initial idea was to create open ended music, collaged quickly and haphazardly together on a Tascam 4 track Portastudio that drew on stream of consciousness creativity and a DIY attitude a la Guided By Voices and The Great Unwashed.

The desire to move beyond the pre programmed drum patterns available on their Casio Keyboard led to the addition of Rory Heane on drums and a more conventional band dynamic. In Late 2016, Alex Macfarlane recorded the band in their lounge room direct to 4 track, capturing 7 songs that would become their 2017 self titled cassette tape debut.

Now out of print, Tough Love Records have pressed the recordings that made up that cassette to vinyl, and it is a lo-fi indie-pop gem of a record.

The Stroppies is composed of members of many Melbourne and UK bands (Claudia is originally from London) including Dick Diver, Primetime, Possible Humans, White Walls, Boomgates, The Stevens, See/Saw to name a few. 


  1. Gravity Is Stern
  2. Go Ahead
  3. No Joke
  4. Under Your Sweater
  5. Courtesy Calls
  6. Celebration Day
  7. All The Lines




We Also Recommend