TEKE::TEKE - Shirushi


  • £19.99

TEKE::TEKE is a unique beast. A seven-piece experimental-rock band that fuses traditional Japanese instruments and influences with loud fuzzy guitars, trombone, flute, keys and a powerhouse rhythm section to create a modern take on a sound reminiscent of 1960’s and 1970’s-era psychedelic Japanese soundtracks. 

The delirious yet sharp song arrangements are a perfect playground for vocalist Maya Kuroki’s wide range of singing and theatrical delivery, where her voice sometimes screams frantically and sometimes soothes. Live, the band’s frenetic energy is palpable, a vibrant punk circus that hits you like a storm. Their debut album, Shirushi (or ‘signs of great changes to come’) on Kill Rock Stars, takes you through a vast array of imagery and sonic landscapes. 

Recorded and mixed by Seth Manchester (Battles, Daughters) at Machines with Magnets and mastered by Heba Kadry (Bjork, Julianna Barwick), the resulting album is as storied and unique as the band itself.  

"A swirling melange of surf guitar, impassioned vocals, trilling flutes, psych propulsion, heavy chaos, the kind of brilliance Japanese psych bands can only bring us" - Backseat Mafia 


  1. Kala Kala 
  2. Yoru Ni 
  3. Dobugawa 
  4. Barbara 
  5. Kizashi 
  6. Kaminari 
  7. Sarabande 
  8. Meikyu 
  9. Tekagami 

  • US import 
  • Limited red vinyl available exclusively from indie stores 
  • CD housed in gatefold card sleeve with 7mm spine 




view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend