Talulah Gosh - Was It Just A Dream


  • £19.99

Talulah Gosh were a guitar-pop group from Oxford and one of the leading bands of the twee pop movement/C86. They supposedly formed when Amelia Fletcher and Elizabeth Price, both wearing Pastels badges, met at a club in Oxford.

Formed in 1986, their original line-up comprised Amelia Fletcher (vocals, guitar), her younger brother Mathew Fletcher (drums), Peter Momtchiloff (lead guitar), Rob Pursey (bass) and Elizabeth Price (vocals). Rob left early on, to be replaced by Chris Scott. Elizabeth left in 1987 to be replaced by Eithne Farry. They called it a day in late 1988 with Amelia, Matthew and Peter reappearing soon after as Heavenly. Amelia and Rob went on to form Tender Trap and currently perform as The Catenary Wires. Peter Momtchiloff went on to join Would-Be-Goods and The Hot Hooves

This compilation brings together all of their recorded output, plus the two BBC sessions and the four tracks which appeared on the demos EP in 2011. 


  1. Beatnik Boy
  2. My Best Friend
  3. Steaming Train
  4. Just A Dream
  5. Talulah Gosh
  6. Don't Go Away
  7. Escalator Over The Hill
  8. My Boy Says
  9. Way Of the World
  10. Testcard Girl
  11. Bringing Up Baby
  12. I Can't Get No Satisfaction (Thank God)
  13. The Girl With The Strawberry Hair
  14. Talulah Gosh (radio session version)
  15. Do You Remember
  16. Looking For A Rainbow
  17. Sunny Inside
  18. My World's Ending
  19. Be Your Baby
  20. Break Your Face
  21. In Love For The Very First Time
  22. Spearmint Head
  23. I Told You So
  24. Pastels Badge
  25. Rubber Ball
  26. Steaming Train (demo)
  27. I Told You So (demo)
  28. Mmm Mmm He's So Dreamy (demo)
  29. Sunny Inside (demo)


CD includes a 24 page booklet featuring sleeve notes and an interview with the band by Everett True




We Also Recommend