Stuart Moxham & Louis Philippe - The Devil Laughs


  • £14.99

Will be in stock after

Much has been written about Stuart Moxham's first band, Young Marble Giants, and its small, perfect catalogue, which contained roughly two-dozen songs, nearly each one a perfect gem. The Devil Laughs is as out of its time as Colossal Youth was - its subtle but immediate beauty, devoid of “rock”, is a recording best understood in the light of those obscure ground-breakers who inspired it - the faux barbershop vocals of Smile-era Beach Boys, the studio lustre of Tom Wilson’s work with Simon & Garfunkel, a dash of The Swingle Sisters and French chanson - along with enough hints of Young Marble Giant’s modernist folk abstraction to satisfy longtime fans.


  1. Tidy Away
  2. Day Must Come
  3. It Goes Like This
  4. Love Hangover
  5. The Devil Laughs
  6. Sky Over Water
  7. Fighting To Lose
  8. Untitled #2
  9. Come To Me Nancy
  10. Head In A Song
  11. Singing Out
  12. Tidy Away (Reprise) 





We Also Recommend