The Stroppies - Look Alive!


  • $24.00

Originally starting as the DIY home recording project of Angus Lord and Claudia Serfaty, The Stroppies have now evolved into what some might call a “proper band”. Following on from their 2017 demo cassette and a sling of singles, 2019 saw the release of their debut LP Whoosh!, a studio-based affair that evolved The Stroppies sound, underpinned with a newly discovered melodic classicism. 
Look Alive!
 represents a marriage of the two different styles of Stroppies recordings and rounds out an incredibly productive twelve months for the group. Look Alive! is the sound of The Stroppies honing their craft under new and unfamiliar conditions. Written mainly on the road then finished and recorded at home in Melbourne, Australia, with whatever was on hand with only three of the four members present, it is according to the band’s singer/guitarist Angus Lord, "an EP forged in circumstance. A sum total of fleeting vignettes on scraps of paper, voice memos and iPhone notepads all collated between soundchecks and long stretches in a tour van rolled pieced together over weekly jams. We didn't want to waste much time when we got home so we opted to record it ourselves". For a band who began with the initial idea to create what the band called “open-ended music, collaged quickly and pieced haphazardly together”, it is in some sense a return to their true self. 
If Whoosh! glimmered and sparkled with tight production and succinct pop songwriting, Look Alive! is a somewhat darker shade, employing a more diffuse, impressionistic sonic palette and a more obvious penchant for experimentation. Though undeniably pop structure orientated, the band's propensity for re-inventing and re-appropriating their recording and writing process ensures that nothing starts to fossilise.


  1. Burning Bright 
  2. Look Alive 
  3. Sad Sorry Soul 
  4. Roller Cloud 
  5. Holes in Everything 
  6. The Aisles of the Supermarket 
  7. Enter or Exit 
  8. Rigid Men and Conduct Codes 



also available: 
The Stroppies - It's A Hit!   7" EP 
The Stroppies - The Stroppies   LP 
The Stroppies - Maddest Moments   7" 
The Stroppies - Whoosh   LP | CD 
The Stroppies - Levity   LP | CD 



We Also Recommend