Sounds Of Liberation - Sounds Of Liberation


  • £29.99

Will be in stock after

Sounds of Liberation was a band and a social movement formed in of the Germantown and Mount Airy neighbourhoods of Philadelphia in 1970. The group consisted of seven members: Khan Jamal (vibraphone), Byard Lancaster (alto saxophone), Billy Mills (bass), Dwight James (drums), Monnette Sudler (guitar), Omar Hill (percussion), and Rashid Salim (percussion).  Originally conceived and formed by Khan Jamal, the arrival of Byard Lancaster in 1971 helped shift their focus and efforts into a higher gear. Jamal and Lancaster would work together in different configurations throughout the decade.

Sounds of Liberation were at the forefront of avant-garde Black expression in the early 1970s, putting action behind their creative endeavours. They were as much of a community force as a band, and there was a strong desire by the entire group to work with a range of different populations, from school children to inmates. They continued to do so through the mid-1970s. In addition to club performances, the collective initiated happenings in elementary schools, prisons and community centres throughout Philadelphia, to great success and impact in the city’s African-American and jazz community.

Sounds of Liberation, originally released as New Horizons by Dogtown Records in 1972, is a six-song, fifty-minute album of original music (with compositions attributed to the group, in addition to co-author Abraham Howard Jr. on 'Happy Tuesday'). This is deeply emotional and soulful jazz - termed Black Liberation Music by band members - created with passion and purpose by masters of the artform, and it sounds as powerful today as it did back upon its original commitment to tape. 

This 2019 reissue package - with liner notes by legendary Philly jazz chronicler, historian, author, and friend of the group, Francis Davis - has been prepared in collaboration with the group members.


  1. Happy Tuesday 
  2. New Horizons II 
  3. Billie One 
  4. We’ll Tell You Later 
  5. New Horizons I 
  6. New Life 


  • US import 
  • Housed in gatefold jacket featuring the original album artwork, plus new liner notes by Francis Davis and archive photograph; presented with obi-strip  



see also: 
Khan Jamal Trio - The Traveller   LP 



We Also Recommend