Silver Jews - Tanglewood Numbers

Silver Jews - Tanglewood Numbers


  • £18.99

Will be in stock after

Silver Jews fifth album, released in 2005.

"Berman enlisted all his old friends—Stephen Malkmus, Bob Nastanovich, Will Oldham, Azita Youseffi, and his wife Cassie—for Tanglewood Numbers, the fifth instalment of the Silver Jews series. There are some marked differences here and thankfully it’s not the familiar story of a newly clean and sober musician losing his edge. The production is more polished than we’ve become accustomed on previous outings. Even Silver Jews’ pure country albums contained a whiff of how they started as home recording jam band. The lineup Berman put together after a long four year absence sounds like professional musicians making a professional indie-rock record. Its shine at times detracts from the original charm of the band, but ultimately the story of staring into the abyss and returning a little worse for wear is a compelling one." Drowned In Sound


  1. Punks In The Beerlight
  2. Sometimes A Pony Gets Depressed
  3. K-Hole
  4. Animal Shapes
  5. I'm Getting Back Into Getting Back Into You
  6. How Can I Love You If You Won't Lie Down
  7. The Poor, The Fair And The Good
  8. Sleeping Is The Only Love
  9. The Farmer's Hotel
  10. There Is A Place



We Also Recommend