Sebadoh - Act Surprised

Sebadoh - Act Surprised


  • £21.99


For their ninth studio album, Act Surprised, Sebadoh recorded 15 new songs with Justin Pizzoferrato, the engineer behind many Dinosaur Jr. albums. 

2019's Act Surprised is a collection of songs that recalls the classic Sebadoh sound – that iconic fuzzy, jangle of guitars that’s both joyful and wistful at the same time – but which also takes their sound both forwards and sideways. It sees Lou Barlow and Jason Loewenstein singing and harmonizing together more than ever before to create what Bob D’Amico terms a “real ‘sound’.”

Barlow and Loewenstein each wrote seven songs, while D’Amico wrote penultimate track “Leap Year” – a hyperactive mush of angular rhythms that reflects the odd, slightly dystopian world that we all seem to be living in right now. “To state the obvious,” says D’Amico, “we're living in a surreal time in this country. There are folk tales about leap years and their disconnection from reality – and 2016 was a leap year that won't end.”

  1. Phantom
  2. Celebrate The Void
  3. Follow The Breath
  4. Medicate
  5. See-saw
  6. Vacation
  7. Stunned
  8. Fool
  9. Raging River
  10. Sunshine
  11. Act Surprised
  12. Battery
  13. Belief
  14. Leap Year
  15. Reykjavik


We Also Recommend