Ross Gay - Dilate Your Heart


  • £22.99

Ross Gay is a poet and essayist from Bloominton, Indiana. On Dilate Your Heart, Gay  masterfully reads five of his poems, each soundtracked in collaboration with a different musician, and is the first in a series of four collaborative releases marking the 25th anniversary of Jagjaguwar Records. 

Throughout, Gay recites his poems with bright aliveness, his voice as warm and easy when he speaks about death as when he speaks about mercy, or love.  

‘Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude’ is given a gorgeous, slowly creeping bed of vines by Bon Iver, as Gay’s unadorned voices speaks a lifetimes of ‘Thank You’s. 

On ‘Burial’, harpist and composer Mary Lattimore’s lunar landscape follows Gay’s voice into space, telling of our endless energy exchange with nature. 

Chicago’s Angel Bat Dawid dances with the frenetic, joyous scene Gay leads us through on ‘To the Fig Tree on 9th and Christian’, in which a group of Philadelphia strangers scramble together to harvest the fruit of the titular urban fig tree. 

Songwriter Gia Margaret provides a mystical, amniotic environment for Gay’s ‘Poem To My Child If Ever You Shall Be’, a love letter to an imagined future child, treating Gay’s voice like a message in a bottle to a far off idea made only of love and potential. 

Sam Gendel, a secret weapon collaborator, affects Gay’s voice on ‘Sorrow Is Not My Name’ to something glassy and almost singsongy. 

  1. Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude (with Bon Iver) 
  2. Burial (with Mary Lattimore) 
  3. To The Fig Tree on 9th & Christian (with Angel Bat Dawid) 
  4. Poem To My Child, If You Ever Shall Be (with Gia Margaret) 
  5. Sorrow Is Not My Name (with Sam Gendel) 


  • LP pressed on opaque green vinyl 
  • This record marks the launch of Jagjaguwar's 25th anniversary, which they are celebrating with the quarterly release of four curated collaborations over the course of 2021 



browse collections: 
Poetry collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend