Dissident by Richard Youngs on Glass Modern Records

Richard Youngs - Dissident


  • £19.99

Tender experimental folk from Glasgow's prolific Richard Youngs, Dissident is a heartfelt, loose and beautifully rewarding album. 

“Dissident is a hallucination of a legendary lost Samizdat-style recording of the legendary lost Richard Youngs Band. It’s not clear to me that it is against anything in particular, and as such it is not literally dissident. In fact, I’m a little lost how or why it is dissident, save for being informed by the imagined provisional recordings of pre-Glasnost protest. Perhaps the wordless scratch vocals are voicing dissent, but I remember having fun. So much so, I couldn’t stop myself from fleshing out the rough nylon guitar songs to a full band arrangement, recorded in multiple spaces” - Richard Youngs 

"Imagine Richard Youngs as the junior member of a cabal of prolific and puritanical English musician-mystics, including The Fall's Mark E Smith, Van der Graaf Generator's Peter Hammill, Martin Carthy and The Clangers composer Vernon Elliot, and still his nature will elude you" - Stewart Lee, Sunday Times 


  1. Filling My Mind With Stars 
  2. Just A Monotone 
  3. Lonely Suburban Eyes 
  4. North Sea Song 
  5. (Searching For A) Dead Language 
  6. Paradise Begun 
  7. Assymetry 
  8. Unseeing 
  9. I Would Rather Fall Into Your Head 
  10. We Are Going Outside 
  11. High Low Vertigo 
  12. Caravans 


  • Pressed on 180g vinyl 



also available: 
Richard Youngs - Memory Ain't No Decay   LP 
Richard Youngs - Iker   CD 
Richard Youngs - CCXI   LP 


browse collections: 
Experimental & Avant-Garde collection 



We Also Recommend