Telyn Rawn by Rhodri Davies on Amgen Records

Rhodri Davies - Telyn Rawn


  • £12.99

Telyn Rawn is a beautiful and engrossing album of minimalist improvisation performed with genuine heart and emotion using a unique replica of an ancient harp. 

A telyn rawn is an early version of a harp and predates the appearance of the triple, lever and pedal harps. The earliest reference to this early Welsh harp can be found in the Laws of Hywel Dda (13th century), the codification of traditional Welsh laws. This harp remains largely unknown to contemporary audiences. One of the last references to a telyn rawn made in Wales was around two hundred years ago. In 2016 Davies researched the telyn rawn in early Welsh poetry and commissioned the building of a new harp. 

“I designed and built a long forgotten instrument, experimented with wound and pleated horse hair strings, I engaged with historical texts and poetry, learnt the techniques and music from the Robert ap Huw manuscript and researched the importance of the horse and horse cults in Welsh culture. All these interventions were a means to improvise historically informed music and re-evaluate the legacy of the harp in Wales but ultimately served as a jumping off point so as to create new possibilities” - Rhodri Davies 

Rhodri Davies was born in 1971 and has a distinctive career immersed in the worlds of improvisation, musical experimentation, composition and contemporary classical performance. He plays harp, electric harp, live-electronics and builds wind, water, ice, dry ice and fire harp installations and has released five solo albums. His regular groups include Hen Ogledd, Common Objects and a duo with John Butcher., and he has also worked with David Sylvian, Jenny Hval, Derek Bailey, Laura Cannell, Lina Lapelyte, Sachiko M, Bill Orcutt, Jim O’Rourke, Christian Marclay and David Toop. 

  1. Penrhiw 
  2. Gorchan Sali 
  3. Y Gaseg Fedi 
  4. Angharat Ton Uelen 
  5. Maen Ceti 
  6. Rhywbeth 
  7. Afon Dewi Fawr 
  8. Ffarwel Arddol 
  9. Lwc i’r Ceffyl Melyn 
  10. Pengribyn 
  11. Cwrt Malle 
  12. Triban Cilrhedyn 
  13. Waunceiliogau 
  14. Dygan tro’r Ebill 
  15. Erddigan Gwawr 
  16. Gorhoffedd Rhisiart 
  17. Penglog Ceffyl 
  18. Y Dôn Newydd 


  • Housed in gatefold card jacket 
  • Features artwork by Jean-Luc Guionnet 



also available: 
Rhodri Davies - Wound Response   CD 
Rhodri Davies - An Air Swept Clean Of All Distance   CD 
Rhodri Davies - Transversal Time   CD 


see also: 
Rhodri Davies, David Sylvian & Mark Wastell - There Is No Love   CD 
The Sealed Knot - Twenty   CD 
Hen Ogledd - Free Humans   2LP | CD 



We Also Recommend