Reiko Kudo & Tori Kudo - Tangerine


  • £24.99

Tangerine is a collection of songs by Reiko and Tori Kudo recorded at Village Hototoguiss in Japan in 2011 and 2012 (plus one song recorded at Cafe Oto in London in 2009), originally released on CD by Hyotan Records in 2013. This 2022 release presents the album on vinyl for the very first time. 
These beautiful, warm and intimate recordings are a touchstone of contemporary Japanese avant-folk minimalism and, significantly, it is also the last recorded appearance by the duo, who have performed together of over thirty years. 
Tori and Reiko are longtime staples of Tokyo's DIY and experimental music community, and are possibly best know outside of Japan for leading the ensemble Maher Shalal Hash Baz (K Records, Geographic). During their live performances, Reiko and Tori would often welcome local musicians, neighbourhood children, friends, and even passersby on stage to join their playful and joyous take on musical innovation, while in the studio, they have collaborated with the likes of Keiji Haino, Ikuro Takahashi (LSD March) and Takashi Ueno (Tenniscoats). 



  1. Deep Sea Fish 
  2. The Deep Valley of Shadow 
  3. We May Be 
  4. Kanakana 
  5. Homeless 
  6. Tangerine 
  7. The Swallow II 
  8. When Seeing the Setting Sun Alone 


  • Housed in reverse-board jacket 
  • Includes postcard and insert with lyrics in Japanese and English 




see also: 
Tori Kudo - GALA KEI   2LP+CD 


also on A Colourful Storm: 
Maxine Funke - Séance   LP 
Princess Diana Of Wales - Princess Diana Of Wales   LP 


browse collections: 
Experimental & Avant-Garde collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend