Rat Columns - Candle Power


  • £11.99

Rat Columns is the mutable musical project of David West, an artist as prolific as he is diverse in his output. West is the driving force behind the groups Rank/Xerox, Liberation and Lace Curtain, and has most recently released a two albums under his own name.

Over the years the band has morphed and continued with an array of different friends from the USA and Australia, always finding David West dancing through the long shadows at its core. Working with many distinguished underground imprints including Blackest Ever Black, Adagio 830, Smart Guy Records and RIP Society, Rat Columns have left in their wake a trail of 7”s, EPs and two full length albums.

Recorded in Guildford, Western Australia, with the Perth crew of West, Amber Gempton, Louis Hooper and Chris Cobilis, Candle Power sees the band's universe of chiming guitar pop explode into new worlds of colour and shade. It’s an album as happy to walk home in the rain as it is to reel dizzily through daylight. It’s melancholic lilt tempered by a quietly-sung optimism. Candle Power tunnels further than ever before down the pop mainline, cutting in with moments of soul, disco and experimental plots.

West is a magpie-like musician, unafraid to assemble songs from a motley collection of influences and ideas. He weaves songs together with a deft hand and an acute grasp for the memorable yet momentary.


  1. Someone Else’s Dream
  2. She Loves The Rain
  3. Blinded By The Shadow
  4. Time’s No Vessel
  5. Is This Really What You’re Like?
  6. Candle Power II
  7. You Don’t Have To Try
  8. Northern Soul
  9. Dream Tonight



see also:
Rat Columns - Pacific Kiss   LP | CD

browse collections:
Upset The Rhythm collection


We Also Recommend