The Raincoats - The Raincoats


  • £24.99

In 1979, The Raincoats helped shape the timeless notion that punk is what you make it to be - an act of raw expression, not any one sound. Their anarchy was poetic. The group’s debut album, released by Rough Trade Records at its radical beginnings, setting a crucial precedent for feminist work within a DIY context. 

The Raincoats is one of those perfect debut albums, full of vision and promise, scratchy, fun, angry, delicate, rough, discordant, catchy, poetic and shambolic. It never gets old, the energy is contagious and inspiring, and it has become one of the most important, and consistently influential, albums to come out of punk. 

Offering creative and spiritual inspiration for several generations of artists, both directly and indirectly, The Raincoats commitment to, and championing of, DIY punk for four decades is almost unique, and has seen them be the continuous thread from first-wave punk, through riot grrrl, to the current queer-feminist scene. 

To celebrate the 40th anniversary of this album, the band's own label, We ThRee, have released a special edition on 180g marble vinyl, limited to 1000 copies, which include art prints by Ana da Silva and Gina Birch. 

“I really don’t know much about The Raincoats except that they recorded some music that has affected me so much that whenever I hear it I’m reminded of a particular time in my life when I was (shall we say) extremely unhappy, lonely and bored. If it weren’t for the luxury of putting on that scratchy copy of The Raincoats’ first record, I would have had very few moments of peace” - Kurt Cobain, Nirvana 

“It was The Raincoats I related to most. They seemed like ordinary people playing extraordinary music. Music that was natural that made room for cohesion of personalities. They had enough confidence to be vulnerable and to be themselves without having to take on the mantle of male rock/punk rock aggression…or the typical female as sex symbol avec irony or sensationalism” - Kim Gordon, Sonic Youth 


  1. Fairytale In The Supermarket 
  2. No Side to Fall In 
  3. Adventures Close to Home 
  4. Off Duty Trip 
  5. Black and White 
  6. Lola 
  7. The Void 
  8. Life On The Line 
  9. You're a Million 
  10. In Love 
  11. No Looking 


  • Standard LP pressed on clear vinyl 
  • 40th anniversary deluxe edition (limited to 1000 copies) pressed on 180g marble vinyl, and includes art prints by Ana da Silva and Gina Birch 
  • Both LP formats include lyrics insert and download coupon 



also available: 
The Raincoats - Odyshape   LP | CD 
The Raincoats - Extended Play   10" EP | CD EP 
The Raincoats - Looking in the Shadows   CD 


see also: 
Jenn Pelly - The Raincoats   paperback 
Ana da Silva & Phew - Island   2LP | CD 



We Also Recommend