Rachel Grimes - The Clearing

Rachel Grimes - The Clearing


  • £17.99


Rachel Grimes is a pianist, composer, and arranger based in Kentucky - most renowned for her work in Rachel's, the groundbreaking chamber-rock ensemble that introduced an entire generation of underground rock fans to the unexpected similarities and appeal of neoclassical music. Grimes has toured the world as a solo pianist, and as a collaborator with chamber ensembles such as Portland Cello Project, astrïd, Cicada, the Amsterdam Sinfonietta trio, and Orchestra Kandinskij.

Unhurried, at times fleeting, and stretching into the sky, The Clearing is a winding path of transient moments exploring personal memory, relationships, and mystery from a deeply internal place. The music is a wide spectrum of textures in strings, harp, piano, woodwinds, and percussion. Featuring an ensemble that includes Scott Morgan (LOSCIL), Scott Moore, Kyle Crabtree (Shipping News), Amsterdam Sinfonietta, Jacob Duncan (Liberation Prophecy), and Helen Money, The Clearing reveals a broad new chapter for Rachel Grimes. Released May 26, 2015.

  1. The Air
  2. The Clearing
  3. The Air Of Place
  4. The Herald
  5. The Air In Time
  6. In the Vapor with the Air Underneath
  7. Transverse Plane Vertical
  8. Transverse Plane Horizontal
  9. The Air, Her Heart
  10. Further Foundation
  11. The Air at Night



We Also Recommend