Pylon - Gyrate


  • £19.99

In the late-1970s Athens, Georgia was buzzing with a raw but sophisticated music scene. traditional southern rock had been the Georgia musical export for years before, but the turn of the decade began producing new sounds from bands like the B-52’s, REM and Pylon.

Pylon's tense but playful post-punk paired a cool minimalism and reverbed cacophony with a dance-ably infectious wound-up energy and pop-sensibility that would pave a path for the next decade of underground indie-rock. Spare, restrained and punchy, their choppy pop repetition is as relevant now as it was 40 year ago.

Before they were a band, Pylon were art-school students at the University of Georgia: four kids invigorated by big ideas about art and creativity and society. However, Pylon were less of a band and more of an art project, which meant they had very specific goals in mind, as well as an expiration date.

While their time together as a band was short lived (1979-1983), Pylon had a lasting influence on the history of rock and roll. Throughout their brief history, they were able to create influential work that would help foster the post-punk and art-rock scene of the early 80s. Artists like R.E.M., Gang of Four, Sonic Youth, Sleater-Kinney, and many more claim inspiration from the band.

Their 1979 single Cool / Dub reached legendary status, with Rolling Stone titling it one of the 100 Greatest Debut Singles Of All Time. A handful of singles and two albums (1980's Gyrate, and 1983's Chomp) would follow over the next four years, all released on the local Altanta indie label DB Records.

Wilfully eschewing the open arms of a pop career embraced by many of their contemporaries, Pylon's catalogue has been out of press and hard to find for decades. Nevertheless, their impact on underground music is vast, and this timely reissue of their debut album, Gyrate, serves to highlight their continuing influence on the current crop of minimalist post-punk, disco-inspired indie-art bands.

  1. Volume
  2. Feast On My Heart
  3. Precaution
  4. Weather Radio
  5. The Human Body
  6. Read A Book
  7. Driving School
  8. Gravity
  9. Danger
  10. Working Is No Problem
  11. Stop It


  • Pressed on 140g vinyl
  • Remastered from the original tapes



also available:
Pylon - Chomp   LP | CD
Pylon - Pylon Box   4LP + BOOK | 4CD + BOOK


browse collections:
New Wave collection


view all new releases




We Also Recommend