Polvo - Cor-Crane Secret


  • £22.99

In January 1992, fresh off the glory that was the band's 1991 double-7" debut, Chapel Hill's Polvo headed into Duck Kee Studios in Raleigh, NC - the place where a lot of early Merge stuff was recorded - to track what became their debut full-length. CorCrane Secret was released in July of that year. 
Opening with a new take on 'Vibracobra,' a bit of alternately languid and shuddering guitar churn that had appeared on a single the year before (a perfect way to bridge the Polvo of "then" and "now"), Cor-Crane Secret, with songs such as the herky-jerky 'Kalgon' and the youthful-yet-complex 'In the Hand, In the Sieve,' established the first iteration of that Polvo sound: intricate guitar melodies, Mr. Bowie's plain-spoken vocals politely deep beneath the guitar waves, and cool ideas of how guitars could go together all over the place. In an era where guitar bands seemed to be blooming like wildflowers in a particularly fertile cow pasture, Cor-Crane Secret was a complicated bloom indeed. But Polvo was just getting started. 


  1. Vibracobra 
  2. Kalgon 
  3. Bend or Break 
  4. Can I Ride 
  5. Sense of It 
  6. Ox Scapula 
  7. Channel Changer 
  8. In the Hand, In the Sieve 
  9. The Curtain Remembers 
  10. Well is Deep 
  11. Duped 


  • US import 
  • Both LP formats are limited pressings 
  • New inner artwork includes never-before-seen photos from the band's archive 
  • Contains download coupon 


also available: 

Polvo - Today's Active Lifestyles   LP 


view all new releases 



We Also Recommend