The Pharaohs - Awakening


  • £23.99

Will be in stock after


Ubiquity Records presents a limited repressing of Awakening by the legendary Pharaohs which is highly sought after and has been out of print for several years. Originally released in 1971 and re-issued by Luv n’Haight in 1996, Awakening quickly became a must-have for collectors of spiritual, deep, Afro-centric jazz funk and soul.

The Pharaohs were a freewheeling jazz-funk congregation heavily influenced by Chicago's jazz avant-garde as well as on-the-one funk and African motifs. They recorded only one album before Maurice White (who played in an early version of the Pharaohs) hired several of its members to form the Phenix Horns, the justly celebrated horn section in Earth, Wind & Fire.

The Pharaohs were Louis Satterfield, Charles Handy, “Big” Willie Woods (Trombone), Oye Bisi (African drums), Shango Njoko Adefumi (African Drums), Black Herman Waterford (Quinto drum, alto sax), Don Myrick (saxes), Yehudah Ben Israel (guitar, vocals), Alious Watkins (trap drums, tuba), Derf Reklaw Raheem (percussion, flute), and Aaron Dodd (Tuba).


  1. Damballa
  2. Ibo
  3. Tracks of My Tears
  4. Black Enuff
  5. Somebody's Been Sleeping
  6. Freedom Road
  7. Great House

We Also Recommend