OOIOO - Nijimusi


  • $37.00

Formed in 1995 by Yoshimi - percussionist and founding member of the Boredoms and Saicobab, as well as longtime collaborator with fellow experimental musicians such as Kim Gordon (including, of course, as a member of Free Kitten) - OOIOO return after a six-year hiatus with an album that returns them to their roots as four-piece band. 
was recorded mainly using a conventional rock ensemble line-up of two guitars, bass and drums, but it often feels more like than that; it's rhythmic and free and can turn on its heels at any second and become something brilliantly unexpected - moments of psychedelia morph into shimmering distortion, shouts and angularity breakdown to a controlled instrumental shambolism, and then a sudden reverb-drenched trumpet solo! Fun and exciting avant-indie rock records like this don't come to the dance very often... 


“A monument to the endless possibilities afforded by an improvisational spirit, but more importantly it highlights Yoshimi and her band’s tireless and ever-evolving voice” - Pitchfork 

“In the seemingly impenetrable, fantastic murkiness of Japanese experimental psych pop, more often than not, Yoshimi has been a beacon” - FADER 



  1. nijimusi 
  2. nijimu 
  3. jibun 
  4. tisou 
  5. asozan5 
  6. bulun 
  7. walk for “345” minutes, while saying “Ah Yeah!” with a “Mountain Book” in one hand, until a shower of light pours down 
  8. kawasemi Ah 

  • US import 
  • Limited crystal clear vinyl available exclusively from independent stores 
  • LP formats contain download coupon 



see also: 
YoshimiOizumikiYoshiduO - To The Forest To Live A Truer Life   LP 
Boredoms - Super Roots 5   CD 
Boredoms - Super Roots 6   CD 
Boredoms - Super Roots 8   CD 



We Also Recommend