Little Girl Blue by Nina Simone on BMG (the album cover features a colour photograph of Nina Simone sat on a bench next to a river in a city; Simone looks at the camera and, leaning her head against her hand, rests an elbow on the back of the bench).

Nina Simone - Little Girl Blue


  • £23.99

Stunning remastered edition of Nina Simone's flawless classic debut album. 
Little Girl Blue
(also known as Jazz As Played in an Exclusive Side Street Club) was not only Nina Simone's first album, it was, in fact, her first ever recording. 
This incredibly confident performance, recorded in New York in 1957 when Simone was twenty-five years old, saw her infuse jazz standards with formal classical training (and a particular love of Bach) and a remarkably tender and powerful voice, and marked her, even at this early stage, as one of the greats of our time, comparable to Billie Holiday and Ella Fitzgerald. 
Featuring Jimmy Bond on bass and Albert 'Tootie' Heath on drums, Little Girl Blue was originally released in 1959 on Bethlehem Record when Simone was 25 years old, and was met with immediate success and acclaim. The album, containing what are some of Simone's most enduring and well known recordings (including 'My Baby Just Cares For Me,' 'Love Me Or Leave Me,'  'Mood Indigo,' 'I Loves You Porgy') has subsequently not been out of press at any time since. 
Justifiably celebrated as a timeless classic, in her essay written specifically for this release, Daphne A. Brooks puts it best when she asserts that Little Girl Blue presents “an astonishingly daring, dazzlingly confident, endlessly adventurous artist with a deep well of formidable instrumentality up her sleeve as well as a wide and robust, rich and varied knowledge of jazz, blues, American songbook, folk and spiritual standards and aesthetics.” 



  1. Mood Indigo 
  2. Don't Smoke In Bed 
  3. He Needs Me 
  4. Little Girl Blue 
  5. Love Me Or Leave Me 
  6. My Baby Just Cares For Me 
  7. Good Bait 
  8. Plain Gold Ring 
  9. You''ll Never Walk Alone 
  10. I Loves You Porgy 
  11. Central Park Blues 


  • US import 
  • Both clear-blue and standard black LP formats pressed on 180g audiophile vinyl and housed in beautiful heavyweight Tip-On jacket
  • CD housed in digipack case 
  • Features the original artwork and sleeve notes 
  • Includes new liner notes by Daphne A. Brooks 
  • Features new stereo mix by multi-Grammy award-winner Michael Graves 
  • 2021 remaster by Kevin Gray 





browse collections: 
Nina Simone collection 
Jazz collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend