Various - Nina Simone And Her Friends


  • £23.99

Originally released by Bethlehem Records in 1959, Nina Simone & Her Friends was a compilation album comprised of the four remaining, unreleased tracks from Nina Simone's Little Girl Blue recording session in New York 1957 (her very first time in the studio) featuring Jimmy Bond on bass and Albert 'Tootie' Heath on drums, plus four songs each by two other former Bethlehem artists, the powerhouse jazz vocalist Carmen McRae and the elegant song stylist Chris Connor
As Daphne Brooks explains in this release’s brand new essay, “Bethlehem clustered their work - tracks that had previously appeared on the label’s Girlfriends compilation - together with the younger upstart Simone’s, and essentially offered up a collection of songs that span a range of genres - folk, jazz, pop song staples, and torch song laments, plus a couple of provocative original compositions by McRae and Simone. Each track is a reminder of the clear-eyed independence, verve, and confidence of three artists whose music, taken together, brims with the majesty and the assured talents of the late-1950s women artists who led with conviction and invention as musicians and song interpreters.” 



  1. Nina Simone - He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands 
  2. Chris Conner - Someone to Watch Over Me 
  3. Carmen McRae - Old Devil Moon 
  4. Nina Simone - I Loves You, Porgy 
  5. Chris Conner - I Concentrate On You 
  6. Carmen McRae - You Made Me Care 
  7. Nina Simone - For All We Know 
  8. Chris Conner - From This Moment On 
  9. Carmen McRae - Too Much In Love To Care 
  10. Nina Simone - African Mailman 
  11. Chris Conner - All This And Heaven Too 
  12. Carmen McRae - Last Time For Love 


  • US import 
  • Both emerald-green and standard black LP formats pressed on 180g audiophile vinyl and housed in a beautiful Tip-On jacket replicating the original artwork and liner notes 
  • CD housed in digipack case 
  • Includes new liner notes by Daphne A. Brooks 
  • Features new stereo mix by multi-Grammy award-winner Michael Graves 
  • 2021 remaster by Kevin Gray 




browse collections: 
Nina Simone collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend