The Nightingales - Pigs on Purpose


  • £24.99

Ripe for rediscovery, the sought-after and much acclaimed of-kilter post-punk debut album from The Nightingales. This newly expanded Pigs On Purpose is remastered by Stuart Moxham (Young Marble Giants) with the addition of early demos and non-album singles from this period. 

The Nightingales were formed by Robert Lloyd, Eamonn Duffy, and Paul Apperley in 1979, out of the ashes of Birmingham punk band The Prefects (who had been part of The Clash's 'White Riot Tour.' Originally released in 1982 by Cherry Red Records, and now recognised as a pioneering classic, Pigs On Purpose was a strange transmission released as the musical landscape was changing, bridging the gap between the first blossoming of punk and the explosion of mid-80s indie-rock and indie-pop. 

“Their performances will serve to confirm their excellence when we are far enough distanced from the 1980s to look at the period rationally and other, infinitely better known, bands stand revealed as charlatans” - John Peel 

“A perfect example of out-of-sync genius” - AllMusic 

“Robert Lloyd's deadpan, elegantly hilarious lyrics make Sistine Chapel shapes of mundane provincial minutiae” - The Times 

“When it comes to outsider artists, Robert Lloyd is the living embodiment of the term” - Record Collector 


  1. Blood For Dirt 
  2. Start From Scratch 
  3. One Mistake 
  4. Well Done Underdog 
  5. The Crunch 
  6. The Hedonists Sigh 
  7. It Lives Again 
  8. Make Good 
  9. Don't Blink 
  10. Joking Apart 
  11. Yeah, It's Okay 
  12. Use Your Loaf 
  13. Blisters 
  14. Bristol Road Leads To Dachau (demo) 
  15. Hark My Love (demo) 
  16. Nowhere To Return (demo) 
  17. Blisters (demo) 
  18. Idiot Strength 
  19. Seconds 
  20. The Crunch (demo) 
  21. The Hedonists Sigh (demo) 
  22. Inside Out 
  23. Under The Lash 
  24. Paraffin Brain 
  25. Elvis, The Last Ten Days 

Bonus tracks on CD and digital download: 
  1. My Brilliant Career (live) 
  2. Which Hi-Fi? (live) 
  3. Paraffin Brain (live) 
  4. Use Your Loaf (live) 


  • First vinyl pressing since 1983 on double blue vinyl in gatefold sleeve with 7mm spine  
  • 2LP contains download coupon with additional bonus live recordings 
  • 2CD housed in gatefold card sleeve 5mm spine and inner sleeves 
  • Includes new liner notes 




browse collections: 
New Wave collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend