New Age Steppers - Avant Gardening


  • £20.99

Avant Gardening collects New Age Steppers' rare dubs, version excursions and unreleased tracks from 1980 - 1983. 

On-U Sound have gone through the tape vaults to put together this special record of unreleased versions and rarities from the white-hot early days of the New Age Steppers, the group that launched the label by appearing on both the first single and album. 

Highlights include a restored track from their infamous and long-lost 1983 John Peel session (an ebullient cover of Atlantic Starr’s ‘Send For Me’ featuring a beautifully spirited vocal performance from the much-missed Ari Up), the Jah Woosh deejay cut of ‘Love Forever’, some rare dubs previously only available on Japanese import CDs, all book-ended by two very different takes on Chaka Khan’s ‘Some Love’. 

An essential set for collectors of post-punk, dub and other outernational sounds. 


  1. Aggro Dub Version 
  2. Send For Me 
  3. Izalize 
  4. Unclear 
  5. Singing Love 
  6. I Scream (Rimshot) 
  7. Avante Gardening 
  8. Wide World Version 
  9. Some Dub 
  10. May I Version 


  • Includes printed inner sleeve featuring new sleeve notes and interviews by Oli Warwick 
  • Contains download coupon 



also available: 
New Age Steppers - New Age Steppers   LP 
New Age Steppers - Action Battlefield   LP 
New Age Steppers - Foundation Steppers   LP 
New Age Steppers - Love Forever   LP 
New Age Steppers - Stepping Into A New Age: 1980-2012   5CD box 


browse collections: 
New Wave collection 
Reggae collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend