Dark In Here by The Mountain Goats on Merge Records (the album cover is a painting of a dusky landscape with hills and rocky outcrops covered in trees and snow, but in the distance are a series of small fires; the band name and album title are printed in sans-serif tile-case text at the top-right in white and orange respectively).

The Mountain Goats - Dark In Here


  • £19.99

Will be in stock after

When the ever-prolific Mountain Goats got together in March 2020, it was to make not one album, but two. The idea was to again work with Matt Ross-Spang, who suggested they spend a week at Sam Phillips Recording, his home base in Memphis, followed by another at the storied FAME Recording Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, a plan that dovetailed nicely with the band’s notion of corralling these songs into two complementary batches: one light, one dark. 

The Memphis album Getting Into Knives, would be brighter, bolder, marked by rich and vibrant hues; the Muscle Shoals album Dark in Here, is quieter, smokier, but more deeply textured and intense - more stripped down and intimate than the lush arrangements of Getting Into Knives. If you’re looking for a governing theme here, it’s calamity, as all the songs are either anticipating one or reflecting one that’s already happened. 


  1. Parisian Enclave 
  2. The Destruction of the Kola 
  3. Superdeep Borehole Tower 
  4. Mobile 
  5. Dark in Here 
  6. Lizard Suit 
  7. When a Powerful Animal Comes 
  8. To the Headless Horseman 
  9. The New Hydra Collection 
  10. The Slow Parts on Death Metal Albums 
  11. Before I Got There 
  12. Arguing With the Ghost of Peter Laughner About His Coney Island Baby Review 
  13. Let Me Bathe in Demonic Light 


  • Double-LP housed in gatefold jacket with 9mm spine 
  • LP side D features etching 
  • CD housed in card sleeve with 16-page booklet 



also available: 
The Mountain Goats - Getting Into Knives   2LP | CD 
The Mountain Goats - Songs For Pierre Chuvin   LP | CD 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend