Mississippi Blues 1927-1941 on Yazoo Records

Various - Mississippi Blues (1927-1941)


  • $33.00

Will be in stock after

Since its inception during the late 1960s, Yazoo Records has long been considered the standard-bearer for the rural roots sounds of America. From its ranks came collection after collection of some of the rarest early blues, jazz, country, folk, and gospel artists in music history, re-introducing the world to lost legends like Ma Rainey, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Mississippi John Hurt, and many more. Artists whose impact has been felt generations later, and continue to inspire and influence. 
This class of artist can be found all across the fourteen tracks of Mississippi Blues, a compilation of country blues music originally released by Yazoo in 1968. Featuring tracks recorded between 1927 and 1941, and an artist lineup that is the stuff of legends: Charley Patton, Robert Johnson, Son House, Skip James, Mattie Delaney, and so many more. 


  1.  Harvey Hull & Long "Cleve" Reed - Gang Of Brown Skin Women 
  2. Henry Sims - Be True Be True Blues 
  3. William Harris - I'm Leavin' Town 
  4. Skip James - Special Rider Blues 
  5. Skip James - Cypress Grove Blues 
  6. Charley Patton - Hang It On The Wall 
  7. Geechie Wiley - Eagles On A Half 
  8. Mattie Delaney - Tallahatchie River Blues 
  9. John Byrd - Billy Goat Blues 
  10. Charley Patton - Mean Black Moan 
  11. Charley Patton - Pea Vine Blues 
  12. Bobby Grant - Nappy Head Blues 
  13. Son House - Delta Blues 
  14. Robert Johnson - Dead Shrimp Blues 


  • US import 
  • Features the original sleeve art 




also available from Yazoo Records: 
Various - Guitar Wizards 1926-1935   LP 
Blind Willie McTell - 1927-1935   LP 


see also: 
Robert Johnson - Cross Road Blues   LP 
Son House - The Complete Library of Congress Sessions 1941-1942   CD 


browse collections: 
Blues collection 
Americana collection 

Traditional/folk music collection 



We Also Recommend