Mind Over Mirrors - Bellowing Sun


  • £19.99

Will be in stock after

Bellowing Sun is composer, harmoniumist, and synthesist Jaime Fennelly’s immersive explorations of the natural world and musical traditions - acoustic and electronic, vernacular and avant-garde.

Commissioned by the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago for its world premiere performance, and recorded and mixed by Fennelly with John McEntire (Tortoise), it features Janet Beveridge Bean (Freakwater), Jim Becker (Iron and Wine), and Jon Mueller (Death Blues). 

The solitary compositional genesis of the piece, and a significant portion of its early recording (before tracking and mixing sessions with McEntire), occurred at Bean’s home atop a dune of fine quartz “singing sands” on the shore of Lake Michigan. Bellowing Sun is a kaleidoscopic double-album of rhythmic experimental pop, in a vein similiar to Broadcast and Arthur Russell

All four J’s—Jaime, Janet, Jim, and Jon—appeared together on Undying Color, but have since solidified into a formidable, cohesive unit, a true band capable of increasingly expansive arrangements. Though divided into twelve movements, or aspects—zodiacal sectors, perhaps—the piece functions as a heroic, integral whole. The album’s sequence reveals a dynamic push and pull between contemplative stasis and headlong momentum, imparting a palpably physical mass to the cataracts of sound. Bean sings on half of the tracks, and whether articulating words or intoning phonemes, her lucent voice elevates the proceedings to a devotional plane whenever it emerges from the saturated field of sound.

“Near-religious drone. The effect is kaleidoscopic” - The Quietus

“Devotional ambient dreamscapes ... follows in the fertile footsteps of Terry Riley and Alice Coltrane” - Uncut

“Recalls the time-lapse of an epic nature documentary ... Such intention, such mindfulness, such clarity of vision” - The Observer


  1. Feeding on the Flats
  2. Matchstick Grip
  3. A Palinopsic Wind
  4. Zeitgebers
  5. Lanterns on the Beach
  6. Vermillion Pink
  7. Halfway to the Zenith
  8. Oculate Beings
  9. Talking Knots
  10. Twenty-One Falls
  11. Acrophasing
  12. Pause to Wonder


Deluxe 140g virgin vinyl LP in heavy-duty gatefold sleeve; includes download card.

We Also Recommend