Michael Hurley - The Time of the Foxgloves


  • $30.00

Will be in stock after

Michael Hurley's first new studio record in twelve years features eleven songs recorded in Astoria, Oregon during the brief time of year when the foxgloves bloom. Hurley had been workshopping the set at home for the past few years. Friends and collaborators, who refer to Hurley affectionately as Snock. came into town and contributed from afar. The songs are lifted by violin, organ, upright bass, banjo, percussion, plus vocal contributions including harmonies by Kati Clayborn, Lindsay Clark, Josephine Foster and Betsy Nichols - but at the centre, of course, is the enigmatic Snock himself, whose songs have grown only more unique in the fifty-seven years after his debut album, First Songs, released by Folkways in 1964. 
Heartbreaking, heartfelt, easy and carefree, Foxgloves is as comforting and wonderful as any Hurley record that has come before it. 



  1. Are You Here For The Festival 
  2. Alabama 
  3. Se Fue en la Noche 
  4. Blondes and Redheads 
  5. Love Is The Closest Thing 
  6. Boulevard 
  7. Knocko The Monk 
  8. Jacob’s Ladder 
  9. Little Blue River 
  10. Beer, Ale and Wine 
  11. Lush Green Trees 


  • US import 
  • CD housed in gatefold card jacket with reinforced 5mm spine 



browse collections: 
No Quarter collection 

Americana collection 
Traditional/folk music collection 


view all new releases...  



We Also Recommend