Matthew E. White & Lonnie Holley - Broken Mirror: A Selfie Reflection


  • $30.00

Will be in stock after

A Selfie Reflection is a timely callout to the power of collaboration, of kindred spirits connecting in crowded rooms. More important, though, is this collision of two profoundly Southern artists, meeting to shed expectations of generation and genre, scene and situation and exchange truth, wisdom, and energy. The real world is more complicated than a pretty digital picture, bowdlerized of blemishes. As Broken Mirror: A Selfie Reflection reminds us, it can be more revelatory and transformative, too. 

These tracks are balls of energised contemplation, Holley crooning grievances and observations above surrealist grooves so irrepressible and heavy that the words strike with the force of gospel. 'I’m Not Tripping' is an anthem of self-worth and self-enjoyment for a society mired in self-doubt, the words breaking like light beams through clouds of atomised drums and synths. 

Holley and White may seem like unlikely collaborators, divided as they are by decades and disciplines. Holley, 70, first earned attention as a sculptor far removed from the fiefdom of fine art, using society’s detritus to create curious bricolages that ferried deep narratives of ancestral pride, enduring pain, and eternal hope. His music privately stowed on stacks of cassettes before he released his staggering 2012 debut, Just Before Music, at the age of 62 aired those ideas over extemporaneous pieces for prismatic keyboards. White, 38, came into acclaim as a meticulous songwriter and arranger. Stretching his assuredly soulful voice like a smile across little symphonies of strings, horns, choirs, and percussive cavalcades, White commanded sounds where Holley seemed to glide inside them. 


  1. This Here Jungle of Moderness / Composition 14 
  2. Broken Mirror (A Selfie Reflection) / Composition 9 
  3. I Cried Space Dust / Composition 12 
  4. I’m Not Tripping / Composition 8 
  5. Get Up! Come Walk with Me / Composition 7 


  • LP pressed on 'protest pink' colour vinyl and contains download coupon 
  • CD housed in gatefold card sleeve with 4mm spine 
  • Sleeve art by Lonnie Holley 




also on Spacebomb: 
McKinley Dixon - For My Mama And Anyone Who Look Like Her   LP | CD 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend