Matana Roberts - Coin Coin Chapter Three: River Run Thee

Matana Roberts - Coin Coin Chapter Three: River Run Thee


  • £20.99

Matana Roberts is one of the most acclaimed, socio-politically conscious and aesthetically intrepid avant-jazz practitioners of the 21st century. The critical accolades for her multi-chapter Coin Coin work place her at the vanguard of stylistic innovation and radicalization, while confirming the deep substance and soul that guides her compositional agenda. Roberts has long employed the phrase "panoramic sound quilting" to describe Coin Coin, and with this third chapter in the series she implements this metaphor most overtly, creating a sound art tapestry from field recordings, loop and effects pedals, and spoken word recitations, alongside her saxophone and singing voices. 

Coin Coin Chapter Three: River Run Thee unfolds as an uninterrupted album-length flow, in what Roberts calls "a fever dream" of sonic material, inspired by a solitary research-based road trip Roberts took through the American South in early 2014. Fragments of traditional song are the album's main touchstones, with Roberts' singing voice riding atop waves of radiophonic texture, layered spoken word, and an often dislocated, wandering horn. It is the first explicitly solo work in the Coin Coin series, and a fascinating extension of the cycle; yet another adventurous, socially engaged definition of what Jazz can mean in this day and age. 


  1. All Is Written 
  2. The Good Book Says 
  3. Clothed to the Land, Worn by the Sea 
  4. Dreamer of Dreams 
  5. Always Say Your Name 
  6. Nema, Nema, Nema 
  7. A Single Man O' War 
  8. As Years Roll By 
  9. This Land Is Yours 
  10. Come Away 
  11. With Me Seek 
  12. J.P. 


  • LP pressed on 180g virgin vinyl and is housed in heavyweight jacket with  poly-lined inner-sleeve, twp pull-out art posters, and download coupon 
  • CD housed in custom gatefold jacket with inner-sleeve 



also available: 
Matana Roberts - Coin Coin Chapter One: Gens De Couleur Libres   2x10" | CD
Matana Roberts - Coin Coin Chapter Two: Mississippi Moonchile   LP | CD
Matana Roberts - Coin Coin Chapter Four: Memphis   LP | CD
Matana Roberts & Pat Thomas - The Truth   LP


browse collections: 
Free jazz collection 
Experimental music collection 
Constellation collection 



We Also Recommend