The Asylum Tapes by Marvin Pontiac on Northern Spy Records

Marvin Pontiac - The Asylum Tapes


  • £17.99

Will be in stock after

"Marvin Pontiac was anonymously sent a 4-track tape recorder during the years he was held at Esmerelda State Mental Institution. This is what he did with it."

This was the sole statement accompanying the release of The Asylum Tapes in 2017, the first release in 17 years by John Lurie's alter ego Marvin Pontiac. Coming to prominence during the no wave era as part of NYC's notorious Lounge Lizards and starring in Jim Jarmusch's film Down By Law, Lurie's quirky and experimental  folk/blues-informed compositions under the Pontiac pseudonym have developed a legendary reputation from fans and critics alike.

This is the first time The Asylum Tapes has been released on vinyl.


  1. Unbelievable
  2. I Hope She Is Okay
  3. My Bear to Cross
  4. Hollerin
  5. I Don’t Have A Cow
  6. It’s Always Something. It’s Never Nothing
  7. We Are The Frog People
  8. Let Me Tell You
  9. I Am A Man
  10. I Don’t Like To Stand On Line
  11. Baby Pigs
  12. You’re Going To Miss Me
  13. I Want To Get Out Of Here
  14. Beastliness
  15. I Am Not Crazy
  16. Temple Of Banjos
  17. Santa Claus
  18. Godzilla
  19. Don’t Fuck With Me
  20. My Little Garden Gnome
  21. Horse Fell Down The Well
  22. I Like To Wear Funny Outfits
  23. Little Banjo
  24. I Am Not Alone


Limited to 350 copies in the UK (1500 copies worldwide); released on Record Store Day 2020



We Also Recommend