Chopin: The Legendary 1965 Recording by Martha Argerich on Warner Classics (the album cover is a blue tinted black and white photograph of Martha Argerich sat at a piano staring down at the ground).

Martha Argerich - Chopin: The Legendary 1965 Recording


  • $24.00

Argentinian pianist Martha Argerich gained international prominence when she won the prestigious International Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw in 1965, at age 24, and has been described as “unquestionably one of the greatest pianists of all time.”

This legendary recital of Chopin's works for solo piano was recorded in 1965 at Abbey Road Studios in London, shortly after her sensational victory in the Chopin Competition, but it was only became available in 1999. This HD-remaster is now being released to celebrate Martha Argerich’s 80th birthday on June 5th 2021.  “Argerich was quite the most formidable player we had ever come across,” said the album’s producer, Suvi Raj Grubb, “Nothing would have been beyond this woman.” 

Fredrich Chopin (1810-1949) was a Polish composer and virtuoso pianist of the Romantic period who wrote primarily for solo piano with a great poetic genius. His third, and final, Piano Sonata, completed in 1844, is considered to be one of his most difficult compositions, both technically and musically.  

“This brilliant disc deserves its legendary appellation... Argerich performs with such white-hot intensity that it scarcely feels like a studio recording. Her volcanic energy can leave you scrambling to keep up, but the Third Sonata is breath-taking in its spontaneity, and the Mazurkas are richly imbued with Polish spirit” - BBC Music Magazine  

  1. Piano Sonata No. 3 in B minor, Op. 58: I. Allegro maestoso
  2. Piano Sonata No. 3 in B minor, Op. 58: II. Scherzo: Molto vivace 
  3. Piano Sonata No. 3 in B minor, Op. 58: III. Largo
  4. Piano Sonata No. 3 in B minor, Op. 58: IV. Finale: Presto, non tanto 
  5. Mazurka No. 36 in A minor, Op.59 No. 1  
  6. Mazurka No. 37 in A flat, Op.59 No. 2  
  7. Mazurka No. 38 in F sharp minor, Op.59 No. 3 
  8. Nocturne No. 4 in F, Op.15 No. 1  
  9. Scherzo No. 3 in C sharp minor, Op.39  
  10. Polonaise No. 6 in A flat, Op.53 


  • Newly remastered in 192kHz/24-bit from original master tapes 
  • LP housed in gatefold jacket with 7mm spine 
  • CD housed in jewelcase and includes liner notes in English, French and German 




browse collections: 
Classical & Early Music collection 


view all new releases... 

view all pre-releases... 



We Also Recommend