Lucy Dacus - Home Video


  • £20.99

Lucy Dacus' third album, Home Video, was built, as the title alludes to, on an interrogation of her coming-of-age years in Richmond, VA. Many songs start the way a memoir might - “In the summer of ’07 I was sure I’d go to heaven, but I was hedging my bets at VBS” - and all of them have the compassion, humour and honesty of the best autobiographical writing. 

Most importantly and mysteriously, this album displays Dacus’s ability to use the personal as portal into the universal. “I can’t hide behind generalizations or fiction anymore,” Dacus says, though talking about these songs, she admits, makes her ache. “I don’t necessarily think that I’m supposed to understand the songs just because I made them. I feel like there’s this person who has been in me my whole life and I’m doing my best to represent them.” 

With its release coming after more than a year of being largely homebound due to the coronavirus pandemic, a time when screens and video calls were sometimes our only form of contact, looking backward has become a natural habit for many. Home Video is a gorgeous example of the transformative and grounding power of vulnerability and honest self-reflection.  


  1. Hot & Heavy 
  2. Christine 
  3. First Time 
  4. VBS 
  5. Cartwheel 
  6. Thumbs 
  7. Going Going Gone 
  8. Partner In Crime 
  9. Brando 
  10. Please Stay 
  11. Triple Dog Dare 


  • Clear vinyl LP available exclusively from indie stores 
  • Both LP formats housed in gatefold jacket with 7mm spine and printed inner-sleeve 
  • CD housed in digipack case with clear tray




also available: 
Lucy Dacus - Historian   LP 
Lucy Dacus - 2019   12" EP 


browse all new releases... 



We Also Recommend