Lucy Dacus - Historian


  • £10.99

 Historian is Lucy Dacus' second album, released in 2018. It is a record full of bracing realisations, tearful declarations and moments of hard-won peace, expressed in lyrics that feel destined for countless yearbook quotes and first tattoos. 

Dacus recorded the album in Nashville with producer Collin Pastore. Her remarkable sense of melody and composition are the driving force throughout, giving Historian the immersive feel of an album made by an artist in full command of her powers. 

The year leading up to its recording, with its electoral disasters and other assorted heartbreaks, was a rough one for many of us, Dacus included. She found solace in crafting a thoughtful narrative arc, writing a concept album about cautious optimism in the face of adversity, with thematic links between songs that reveal themselves on repeat listens. “It starts out dark and ends hopeful, but it gets darker in between; it goes to the deepest, darkest, place and then breaks,” she explains. “What I’m trying to say throughout the album is that hope survives, even in the face of the worst stuff.” 


  1. Night Shift 
  2. Addictions 
  3. The Shell 
  4. Nonbeliever 
  5. Yours & Mine 
  6. Body to Flame 
  7. Timefighter 
  8. Next of Kin 
  9. Pillar of Truth 
  10. Historians 


  • LP includes printed inner-sleeve with lyrics, and contains download coupon 
  • CD housed in digipack case and includes 8-page booklet 




also available: 
Lucy Dacus - 2019   12" EP 
Lucy Dacus - Home Video   LP | CD 



We Also Recommend