Laura Veirs - Carbon Glacier


  • £22.99

Originally released in 2004, Carbon Glacier is Laura Veirs landmark fourth album, featuring, under the group name of the Tortured Souls, contributions from a host of Pacific Northwest musicians including Karl BlauLori GoldstonSteve Moore, and produced by Tucker Martine (Modest Mouse). 
Veirs’ songs are steeped in natural imagery, blending influences ranging from folk to blues to punk. Veirs’ background in geology and kinship with the rugged landscape she grew up in meld together with her punk performing roots to form an unusual musical outlook, reimagining folk music in a boundary-crossing way, employing the genre as a jumping-off point to create an intimate, affecting sound. 
Producer/drummer Tucker Martine (Modest Mouse) allows the experimentation to bloom in all the right places, resulting in a record that never overworks itself, despite being packed to the gills with ghostly glockenspiels, organs, random percussion, and trombone. 


Carbon Glacier is a cold, beautiful and engaging record that translates the bleak, isolated vastness of nature into the bleak, isolated vastness of the modern city-sprawl, leaving one voice to sing in solitude” - Pitchfork 

“This is an oddly beautiful album - far more engaging than you’d expect of one written in a grey Seattle winter, pondering mortality, Moby Dick and the great sheet of blackened ice after which it’s named” - The Guardian 



  1. Ether Sings 
  2. Icebound Stream 
  3. Rapture 
  4. Lonely Angel Dust 
  5. The Cloud Room 
  6. Wind Is Blowing Stars 
  7. Shadow Blues 
  8. Anne Bonny Rag 
  9. Snow Camping 
  10. Chimney Sweeping Man 
  11. Salvage A Smile 
  12. Blackened Anchor 
  13. Riptide 


  • US import 
  • Limited-edition LP pressed on black and clear vinyl
  • Housed in reverse-board jacket 
  • Features sleeve artwork by Jason Lutes 




also available: 
Laura Veirs - Year Of Meteors   LP 
Laura Veirs - My Echo   LP | CD 


see also: 
Laura Veirs - Libba: The Magnificent Musical Life Of Elizabeth Cotten   hardback 
Karl Blau - Introducing Karl Blau   LP | CD 
Karl Blau - Out Her Space   LP | CD 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend