Laura Cannell - The Sky Untuned


  • £11.99

The Sky Untuned is Laura Cannell's fifth album; it was recorded in one take at St Andrew’s Church, Raveningham, Norfolk, on 10th December 2018. The album takes as it’s starting point the theory of the music of the spheres, in which the universe is constantly making sound that humans cannot hear.

The music is teased out of the land and sky and performed using Cannell’s signature minimalist chamber sounds, utilising extended instrumental techniques of overbowed violin (with deconstructed bass viol bow wrapped around the violin to produce drone and melody), scordatura violin tunings and double recorders (inspired by medieval stone carvings).


  1. Flaxen Fields
  2. Untethered
  3. Landmark
  4. Flaming Torches
  5. Organum
  6. Transient Thresholds
  7. Striking the Lost Bells



See also:
Laura Cannell - The Earth With Her Crowns   LP


We Also Recommend