The Just Joans - The Private Memoirs And Confessions Of The Just Joans


  • £16.99


Scottish indiepoppers The Just Joans return with the dazzlingly maudlin The Private Memoirs and Confessions of the Just Joans, a deeply personal collection of songs that hazily recall the past and contemplate the futility of the future - all through the acerbic, winsome and mischievous vocals of siblings David and Katie Pope. 

It's an album of misery, longing and unrequited love; stories of small town resentments, half-forgotten school friends, failing relationships and awkward workplace conversations - but it's more fun than that sounds like it would be!

Despite entering new territory with the addition of brass and strings, they have nevertheless maintained the DIY ethos that made them darlings of the underground indie-pop scene, with each song on the album recorded and produced by the band in various gloomy bedrooms around Glasgow.

“The Just Joans have documented the romantic pratfalls of a generation of indie kids with a sardonic wit and a shambling musical style where Stephin Merritt lies down with The Vaselines” - Uncut

“Lyrically smart, funny, and terrifyingly relatable” - The Skinny

“A sharper, on-the-nose take on indie pop, proving the Just Joans may be older, but, in their own whimsically nostalgic way, perhaps no wiser, and for that we can only be glad" - The List


  1. Hey Ho, Let’s Not Go
  2. Who Does Susan Think She Is?
  3. Wee Guys (Bobby’s Got a Punctured Lung)
  4. My Undying Love For You Is Beginning To Die
  5. When Nietzsche Calls
  6. The Older I Get, The More I Don’t Know
  7. The One I Loathe The Least
  8. Another Doomed Relationship
  9. Holiday
  10. People I Once Knew
  11. Like Yesterday Again

LP contains download card and lyrics insert.

We Also Recommend