First Recordings by Junior Kimbrough on Big Legal Mess Records (the album cover is a black and white photograph of Junior Kimbrough on a porch playing an electric guitar and looking off camera).

Junior Kimbrough - First Recordings


  • £16.99

Guitarist and singer Junior Kimbrough was one of the deepest of the deep bluesmen, like his colleague R.L. Burnside he came from the hill country of Mississippi. 

Stark music with deep primal rhythms and drones, his music is very powerful and hypnotic. Kimbrough ran a juke joint that was the focal point of the local blues scene. 

Recorded by Quinton Claunch at American Studios, Memphis, TN 1966, this album features the earliest tracks he recorded for the label. Some of the standard Kimbrough tunes that he would play for the rest of his career are here, like the very potent 'Done Got Old,' which is an unflinching look at age over a primal beat and slashing guitar, and  the emotionally stark but beautiful 'Meet Me In the City.' This makes for a fine introduction to Kimbrough’s unique blend of blues and the music that made the hill country of Mississippi so unique in American music. 

This 2021 reissue of First Recordings includes two additional takes from the original sessions. 


  1. Lonesome In My Home 
  2. Feels So Good #1 
  3. Meet Me In The City 
  4. Feels So Bad 
  5. Done Got Old 
  6. Meet Me In The City (Alternate Take) 
  7. Feels So Good #2 
  8. Feels So Bad (Alternate Take) 


  • US import 




also available on Big Legal Mess Records: 
Wilburt Lee Reliford - Seems Like A Dream   CD 


browse collections: 
Americana collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend