Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures


  • £16.99

Joy Division's debut album, originally released in 1979. 

"...A conflation of tribal primitivism and sophisticated art-rock that set the template for those twin poles of post-punk. Joy Division, like many of their Manchester peers, were inspired by the DIY anti-ethos of the Sex Pistols; they just didn't know what to do with it at first. 

So, shaped and prodded by notorious provocateur Hannett (who would turn the heat in the studio down low enough for everyone to see their breath), the group embraced space, ambience, and an imposing austerity. It's noteworthy how many songs on Unknown Pleasures fade in like something emerging from the shadows. It's also worth noting how heavy songs such as "Day of the Lords", "New Dawn Fades", "Shadowplay", and "Interzone" are, while sinewy anthem "Disorder" and the discordant anti-funk of "She's Lost Control" are glorious anomalies in both their precision and concision" - Joshua Klein, Pitchfork 


  1. Disorder 
  2. Day Of The Lords 
  3. Candidate 
  4. Insight 
  5. New Dawn Fades 
  6. She's Lost Control 
  7. Shadowplay 
  8. Wilderness 
  9. Interzone 
  10. I Remember Nothing 


  • LP pressed on 180g vinyl and and cut from 2007 remasters 
  • Features original artwork with textured LP sleeve 


We Also Recommend