It's Kinda Funny: The Singles by Josef K on Les Disques Du Crepuscule (the album artwork by Jean-Francois Octave is a illustration of the four members of the band and abstract patterns in bold primary colours, and the band name is black sans-serif type across the top)

Josef K - It's Kinda Funny: The Singles


  • £23.99

It’s Kinda Funny is a collection of the classic singles by iconic Scottish post-punk band Josef K issued between 1979 and 1982. 

As well as the three legendary 45s on Postcard Records ('Radio Drill Time,' 'It’s Kinda Funny' and 'Chance Meeting'), the album also includes both Crepuscule singles ('Sorry For Laughing,' 'Missionary') as well as the original Absolute version of 'Chance Meeting' from 1979 and all the single B-side tracks. 


“Josef K were The Sound of Young Scotland, together with Orange Juice, whose guitars were also radiant and brittle, whose rhythms were also scrubbed and blunt, whose vocals were also proud and serious, but who sounded like another group entirely” - Paul Morley 

“Josef K was about the heroic Outsider suavely surfing across the fraught surface of their albino funk fracas. Haig sounds high on anxiety, finding an odd, giddy euphoria in doubt” - Simon Reynolds 

"Postcard Records had a knack of finding the best of the outsiders in Scottish post-punk. Josef K were probably the band with the least commercial success, but whose music has aged the best. Arch where Orange Juice were twee, otherworldly where Aztec Camera were gauche, Paul Haig and his band took elements from Subway Sect and the Velvets and married them to scratchy, skeletal funk. It's the singles that sees them best remembered. 'Chance Meeting' has an almost Motown bliss added to its austerity, and 'It's Kinda Funny' is a startling record for a band of such relative youth. Adding a much needed literacy and refinement to the glitter of '80s pop, Josef K are sorely missed" - Vive le Rock, 9/10 


  1. Romance 
  2. Radio Trill Time 
  3. It’s Kinda Funny 
  4. Sorry For Laughing 
  5. Chance Meeting 
  6. The Missionary 
  7. Heaven Sent 
  8. Revelation 
  9. Crazy to Exist 
  10. The Angle 
  11. Pictures (of Cindy) 
  12. Final Request 
  13. Chance Meeting (Absolute version) 


  • Housed in reverse board jacket with printed inner sleeve featuring liner notes and archive images by Simon Clegg, as well as a download code 
  • Features artwork by Jean-Francois Octave 




also available: 
Josef K - Sorry For Laughing   LP+CD 


browse collections: 
New Wave collection 


browse all new releases... 



We Also Recommend