Ballads by John Coltrane Quartet on Groove Replica Records

John Coltrane Quartet - Ballads


  • £19.99

Will be in stock after

Originally released in 1963 on Impulse Records, John Coltrane's Ballads is the first album album to feature the "Classic Quartet" of McCoy Tyner (piano), Jimmy Garrison (double bass), Elvin Jones (drums), and John Coltrane (tenor saxophone). 
The "Classic Quartet" would go on to record the ground-breaking A Love Supreme in 1964, but Ballads, recorded in 1961 and 1962 reflects a more musically-traditional and romantic period in Coltrane's career. During this same period, Coltrane also collaborated with pianist Duke Ellington and singer Johnny Hartman to produce two other Impluse!  albums that, similarly, veered from the more avant-garde tendencies he had become know for, and that would he would later continue to push the boundaries of.  
Easily one of his most accessible albums, Ballads is also quietly full of innovation, and is cemented in the unmistakable Coltrane sound; in its masterful introspection and tenderness there is inarguable sentimentality, yet no trace whatsoever of saccharine. On the album, the quartet explore jazz standards, and breath new life into familiar melodies, opening them up to reveal the seeds of a sound to come. 
Prior to making this album, the group had not played any of the songs before, and spent just a short time semi-rehearsing each before recording them, often in just one take. Intricate, contemplative and soulful, Coltrane's output during this time laid a strong foundational groundwork for the deeply spiritual and experimental music that would characterise his work in the years that followed. 
This limited edition includes a bonus track, 'Greensleeves,' recorded during the same sessions, as well as a CD with the full album plus a further seven bonus tracks of standards recorded between 1957 and 1960. 


  1. Say It (Over And Over Again) 
  2. You Don’t Know What Love Is 
  3. Too Young To Go Steady 
  4. All Or Nothing At All 
  5. I Wish I Knew 
  6. What’s New? 
  7. It’s Easy To Remember 
  8. Nancy (With The Laughing Face) 
  9. Greensleeves [BONUS TRACK] 
  10. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye [BONUS TRACK - CD ONLY] 
  11. You Leave Me Breathless [BONUS TRACK - CD ONLY] 
  12. Theme For Ernie [BONUS TRACK - CD ONLY] 
  13. I Want To Talk About You [BONUS TRACK - CD ONLY] 
  14. Violets For Your Furs [BONUS TRACK - CD ONLY] 
  15. Why Was I Born [BONUS TRACK - CD ONLY] 
  16. Naima [BONUS TRACK - CD ONLY] 


  • Pressed on 180g vinyl 
  • Includes CD housed in its own digipack case 
  • Features original liner notes 




browse collections: 
John Coltrane collection 
Jazz collection 



We Also Recommend