Joanna Newsom - Ys

Joanna Newsom - Ys


  • £12.99

Ys is Joanna Newsom's second studio album, released in 2006. The album was produced by Newsom and Van Dyke Parks, recorded by Steve Albini, mixed by Jim O'Rourke. It features guest vocals from Newsom's then boyfriend Bill Callahan and from her sister, Emily Newsom. 

On Ys, Newsome takes the visionary experimental indie-folk unvieled on her 2004 debut, The Milk-Eyed Mender and stretches her songwriting in long-form epic tales, build on eloquent and stunningly visual lyrics, brilliantly orchestrated, and driven by an unforgettable and genuinely emotive delivery. 


"For someone who's been pegged as an "outsider artist," Newsom chose a presentation that's defiantly decorous. Van Dyke Parks' orchestration is polite, never intruding on her performance. And her voice, though less shrieky and childlike than on The Milk-Eyed Mender, is still a tough read. The way she creaks, wavers, and punches the lyrics is expressive but never in an obvious way; rather than just illuminating the lyrics, she's almost sticking another code on top of them. But for all the exquisite melodies, arrangements, and production work, Newsom's lyrics make the performance. She crafts elaborate images but drives them with strong actions, and even the densest tangents keep pulling you along" - Pitchfork 


  1. Emily  [12:09] 
  2. Monkey & Bear  [09:29] 
  3. Sawdust & Diamonds  [09:56] 
  4. Only Skin  [16:54] 
  5. Cosmia  [07:18] 


  • Double-LP comes in gatefold jacket with 11-page 12" x 12" booklet attached inside 



also available: 
Joanna Newsom - The Milk-Eyed Mender   LP 
Joanna Newsom - Joanna Newsom & The Ys Street Band   12" EP | CD EP 


browse collections: 
Americana collection 



We Also Recommend