Qalaq by Jerusalem In My Heart on Constellation Records (the album artwork is photograph by Myriam Boulous capturing a scene during the Beirut October Revolution of 2019, a candid borderless colour photograph of three people stood on a street in front of a burning fire and smoke obscuring the buildings behind; all three people are wearing face masks over their mouth and nose; there is no text or other information on the front of the sleeve)

Jerusalem In My Heart - Qalaq


  • £21.99

One of the most renowned and uncompromising entities working in 21st century avant-garde Arab-Levantine art and music, Jerusalem In My Heart presents a new album of vital and haunting electronics and electroacoustics, framed by founder and producer Radwan Ghazi Moumneh’s spoken and sung Arabic, buzuk-playing and sound design. 
is the most distilled, variegated and finely wrought Jerusalem In My Heart album to date - featuring a different guest/collaborator on every track, yet as cohesive, emotionally resonant, sonically adventurous and narratively powerful as any release in JIMH’s celebrated discography. Guests across the album's thirteen tracks include Moor Mother, Tim Hecker, Lucrecia Dalt, Greg Fox, Beirut, Alanis Obomsawin, Rabih Beaini and many more. 
“Qalaq” is an Arabic word with many shades of meaning, but Moumneh particularly intends it as “deep worry” - on various obvious global levels, but also specifically with respect to Lebanon: its collapsing domestic politics, economy and infrastructure; the tragedy and aftermath of the 2020 Beirut port explosion; the intractable geography and geopolitics that continue to condemn the country to corruption, disruption, destabilisation and violence. Moumneh writes: “The Side Two tracks are all named ‘Qalaq’ and then numbered, representing the degrees of layered and complex violence that Lebanon and the Levant have reached in the last couple of years, from the complete and utter failure of the Lebanese sectarian state that has driven the economy to a grinding halt, to its disastrous handling of the migrant influx from neighbouring failed states, to the endemic corruption that led to the August 2020 port explosion, to the latest chapter of Palestinian erasure and yet another brutally asymmetrical and disproportionate bombing campaign on Gaza.” 
is shaped by a "dismantled orchestra" of musical collaborations, forged through long-distance file exchange during lockdown winter 2020-21 (and the inverted companion to JIMH's previous 2018 full-length Daqa'iq Tudaiq, which featured a fifteen-piece orchestra recorded live in Beirut). Moumneh initially through composed Qalaq in purposely stark and skeletal form, then gave each guest artist a section to decompose, edit, re-interpret and recompose as they desired, working their stems back into his own mixes for each piece/section and moulding newfound coherences in the overall work. 
The custom packaging includes a front cover colour photograph by Myriam Boulous capturing a scene during the Beirut October Revolution of 2019, back cover calligraphy by Krystian Sarkis, and inner sleeve photography of the Beirut port explosion aftermath by Tony Elieh, further contextualising the specificity and lamentations of Qalaq; the deep worry at its heart. 


  1. Abyad Barraq (w/ Greg Fox) 
  2. Sa’at (w/ Alexei Perry Cox) 
  3. Istashraqtaq (w/ Beirut) 
  4. Tanto (w/ Lucrecia Dalt) 
  5. ‘Ana Lisan Wahad (w/ Farida Amadou & Pierre-Guy Blanchard) 
  6. Qalaq 1 (w/ Alanis Obomsawin & Diana Combo) 
  7. Qalaq 2 (w/ Roger Tellier Craig) 
  8. Qalaq 3 (w/ Moor Mother) 
  9. Qalaq 4 (w/ Rabih Beaini) 
  10. Qalaq 5 (w/ Oiseau-Tempête) 
  11. Qalaq 6 (w/ VÍZ [Réka Csiszér]) 
  12. Qalaq 7 (w/ Tim Hecker) 
  13. Qalaq 9 (w/ Mayss, Mazen Kerbaj, Sharif Sehnaoui & Raed Yassin) 


  • LP pressed on 180g vinyl and housed in reverse-board jacket and printed inner-sleeve with artworked inserts printed on uncoated Arktika artboard with UV inks, featuring photographs by Myriam Boulous and Tony Elieh, calligraphy by Krystian Sarkis, and a 9”x36” poetry fold-out by Alexei Perry Cox 
  • Contains download coupon 




see also: 
Moor Mother - Fetish Bones   LP | CD 
Moor Mother - Circuit City   LP | CD 


browse collections: 
Constellation collection 
Experimental & Avant-Garde collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend